Olga Lorenzo - The Light on the Water



Sunday 20 March 2016
25 Fraser Street, Clunes Victoria 3370


Booktown on Sunday Author Talk with Olga Lorenzo

A Free Event

2-3pm @ the Senior Citizens Hall

The Light on the Water

A little girl disappears in the wilderness. Two years later her mother is arrested for her murder. A provocative and unflinching literary novel of love, guilt and grief set against the wilderness of the Australian coast.

Recently divorced and trying to make sense of her new life, Anne takes her daughter Aida on an overnight bushwalk in the moody wilderness of Wilsons Promontory. In a split second, Aida disappears and a frantic Anne scrambles for help. Nearly two years later and still tormented by remorse and grief, Anne is charged with her daughter’s murder. She is stalked by the media and shunned by friends, former colleagues and neighbours.

A superbly written and conceived literary work about the best and the worst aspects of family life, this story asks difficult questions about society, the media, and our rush to judgement. This is a thoughtful, provocative and unflinching novel in the tradition of Helen Garner, Joan London and Charlotte Wood.

Olga Lorenzo is the author of The Rooms in My Mother’s House, which was published in 1996 and shortlisted for various literary awards. She has won the Felix Meyer Scholarship and the Percival Serle Bequest for her writing. Olga has taught writing at RMIT and other institutions for nineteen years. She previously worked as a journalist for the Melbourne Age.

The Light on the Water will be perfect for book groups – it explores many current issues and yet it is a page-turner.’ Annie Condon – Readings 

 

Creative Clunes event
Sponsored by the Hepburn Shire Council.







return